Attention! Mean Machine has left the building

I started playing PQ3 because I was a huge fan of Puzzle Quest, the very first one. It continues to be superior for many reasons. First, no guilds. It’s just you and the game. Second, it has a long, engaging story line, with lots of interesting side puzzles (train you mount, capture enemies, learn new spells, make cool weapons and armor). You didn’t have to buy, or upgrade, or win these things. It was in your control. Yes, you bought the game.

So, let’s just say this is a different game. Here’s what’s “not great” about it.

1. 2-second timer. Some of us have iffy networks. I start to move but things don’t draw right, or are slow, and then my 2 seconds are up and I’ve only made one match. I’ve been screwed by this many times. This game play was a horrible decision. A better game would have a setting. “Easy mode: Make all the moves you want, press go” and “Hard mode: You only have 2 seconds to move.”

2. Gold is useless. I’m frequently trying to find something to buy with it, and somedays there is absolutely nothing (keys, you can always get a few of those). Most everything you want or need you have to buy (crowns can’t ever be won in the game). That’s a shame. I get you need to make money, but when all the daily offerings require crowns, that just looks greedy.